Book Review: The Ballerina & the Fighter by Ursula Sinclair

 

Title: The Ballerina & the Fighter

Author: Ursula Sinclair

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance – 18+

Rating: School School School School

Synopsis

I travel through life dancing.
All I ever wanted to do was dance, as did my best friend. We’d made so many plans together, but one night an explosion changed it all. Only one of us survived, and I promised myself I’d succeed for us both. And I did, until an accident almost ruined my career, but Maze came back into my life when I needed him most. He pulled me out of the depths of my despair. But could I save him now?
I travel through life fighting.
It had always been Ivy; from the first moment I saw her leaping through the air like she had wings to lift her from the ground. But she was my dream, something I wanted more than anything else in my life. I promised myself I would stay away from her. Violence followed me everywhere and I tried to keep her far away from it. She was my point of illumination in the dark tumultuous world I lived in. But I could not stay away from her. Not when I knew she needed me. As much as I needed her. But could she accept me as I am?

Review

**MILD SPOILERS**

 

Ivey and Maze come from two completely different worlds. They have a whirlwind romance the summer before Ivey is set to go off to college while Maze is set to go to Japan to continue his training. They promise to keep in touch but at the end of the summer something tragic happens to Ivey’s best friend. After they go their separate ways, they try to stay in contact but life gets in the way and they slowly loose each other over the next 5 years. When Maze gets back to America for his last fight, he can’t help but make contact with Ivey. Sparks fly once again and the romance picks up where it left off. However, this time Maze’s dealings with the underground fighting scene are causing problems for him and his relationship with Ivey.

I instantly took a liking for Maze. He’s a tough fighter and has had to endure a lot of hardships yet he persevered and not only became a strong person in the ring but also stays a good person on the inside. There were times I wanted to throttle him for some of his decisions concerning Ivey but at the same time I understood why he chose to handle things the way he did.

Ivey is strong willed and determined to succeed as a ballerina. She picks up a best friend (Dante) along the way and of course Maze feels threatened but Dante seems to accept his role as friend and ballet partner (for the most part). When Ivey gets hurt, Maze is there to talk her out of her despair.

I really enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to read the next one.

 

Find It On:

Goodreads          Amazon

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Contemporary, New Adult, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

